Sudan Overview

Sudan is the largest country in Africa in area and lies in the northeastern part of the continent. Sudan is a land of widely differing geography. The Nubian Desert sprawls across most of the north, grassy plains in its central region, and the south is characterised by swamps and rain forest. The Nile River is Sudan’s most important geographic feature. Khartoum, the capital, and Omdurman, the largest city, lies on the Nile. To the north of Khartoum are the ruins of the Royal City of Meroe as well as the pyramids in which the kings are buried.

People have lived in what is now Sudan for thousands of years. Ancient kingdoms flourished in parts of Sudan, and Egypt controlled the country at various times. Sudan became independent in 1956.


In northern Sudan rain rarely amounts to more than 4 inches a year. Average summer high temperatures reach 110 °F (43 °C), but the temperature can climb to more than 125 °F (52 °C).

In central Sudan rainfall varies from 4 to 32 inches per year. Average temperatures range from 74 °F (23 °C) in January to 89 °F (32 °C) in July. Average temperatures are lower in southern Sudan than in the rest of the country.


CAPITAL: Khartoum
POPULATION: 40.2 million
CURRENCY: Sudanese Pound
ELECTRIC CURRENT: 230V, 50Hz. To power any electrical item an international adapter or either a two or three pin plug is required.


We advise against all travel to the following parts of Sudan: the Eritrean border, Abyei in South Kordofan, areas south of Juba in Central and East Equatoria and in West Equatoria within 40kms of the border with the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

We advise against all but essential travel to the following parts of Sudan: Kassala, all parts of southern Sudan (including Juba), Darfur and areas west of the towns of an-Nahud and al-Fula in North Kordofan, which borders Darfur. JEM rebel force movements in West and North Darfur were reported on 12 December 2008.

Information provided by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office in the UK