Visa entry requirements for Norway

Visa entry requirements for Norway

The visa entry requirements for Norway depend on your nationality and the purpose of your visit and the and duration of your visit. Norway is a member of the European Economic Area (EEA) and part of the Schengen Area, which allows for certain travel freedoms among member countries.

Check your visa travel requirements and get approved with

Here are some general guidelines:

Schengen Area: Norway is part of the Schengen Area, allowing for border-free travel between member countries. If you are a citizen of a Schengen Area country, you do not need a visa to enter Norway for short stays.

Schengen Visa: If you are a citizen of a country outside the European Union or the Schengen Area, you may need a Schengen visa to enter Norway for short stays (up to 90 days within a 180-day period). The Schengen visa allows travel to all Schengen member states, including Norway.

Visa-Free Entry: Citizens of certain countries, including many European Union countries, do not need a visa for short stays in Norway. They can enter for tourism or business purposes without obtaining a visa in advance.

E-Visa: Norway offers an electronic visa (e-visa) system for certain travellers, allowing you to apply for a visa online before travelling to the country.

Important Considerations:

Passport: Ensure your passport is valid for at least six months beyond your planned departure date.

Entry Requirements: It’s essential to check the most up-to-date information, as visa entry requirements can change at short notice. You should contact the nearest Norwegian embassy or consulate before planning your trip.

To check the specific requirements for your nationality you can visit the official website of the Norwegian Directorate of Immigration (UDI) for the most up-to-date information.