Armenia Overview

Armenia is a country in south-western Asia. It is a rugged, mountainous land that lies in the Caucasus Mountain region. Yerevan is the country’s capital and largest city.

Present-day Armenia and what is now eastern Turkey make up historic Armenia, the original homeland of the Armenian people. This land was conquered many times in its long history. By 1915, the Turks had driven most Armenians out of western Armenia, which became eastern Turkey.

In 1920, Russian Communists took control of eastern Armenia. This area became part of the Transcaucasian Republic of the Soviet Union in 1922. In 1936, it became a separate Soviet republic called the Armenian Soviet Socialist Republic. Armenia remained under Soviet control until 1991, when the people voted to become an independent nation.


Armenia experiences a continental climate due to its high elevation, with hot summers and cold winters. Summer is the most popular season for travellers, but spring and autumn are the best time of year to travel in Armenia with milder temperatures.


CAPITAL: Yerevan
POPULATION: 2.9 million
LANGUAGE: Armenian, Yezidi and Russian
CURRENCY: Armenian Dram
ELECTRIC CURRENT: 220V, 50Hz. To power any electrical item an international adapter or a two pin plug is required.


We advise against all but essential travel near the border with Azerbaijan due to the unresolved dispute over Nagorno Karabakh. This particularly covers the border areas of Tavush and Gegharkunic regions, where there is sporadic gunfire. In Tavush Marz we specifically advise against travel on the road from Ijevan to Noyemberyan, which passes close to the border and military emplacements, and on the roads beyond Berd.

Information provided by the Foreign and Commonwealth Office in the UK